Hockey Canada men’s team set to defend Olympic title

Since 1998 – when National Hockey League players first took part in the Olympic Winter Games en masse – it has been a day every four years that Canada collectively stops to mull over some very important decisions.

On Tuesday morning, Canada’s National Men’s Team executive director Steve Yzerman let the country know what he and his coaching staff decided when the 25-man Olympic hockey roster was revealed.

SEE ALSO: Rosters & schedule for 2014 men’s Olympic hockey tourney

Here is the team for Sochi 2014 to defend Canada’s Olympic title:


Carey Price, Roberto Luongo, Mike Smith


Jay Bouwmeester, Drew Doughty, Duncan Keith, Dan Hamhuis, Alex Pietrangelo, PK Subban, Marc-Édouard Vlasic, Shea Weber


Jamie BennPatrice BergeronJeff CarterSidney CrosbyMatt DucheneRyan Getzlaf, Chris Kunitz, Patrick Marleau, Rick Nash, Corey Perry, Patrick Sharp, Steven StamkosJohn Tavares, Jonathan Toews

Luongo, Bouwmeester and Nash were part of Team Canada in Turin 2006 and won gold in Vancouver 2010.

Doughty, Keith, Weber, Bergeron, Crosby, Getzlaf, Marleau, Perry and Toews were also on the 2010 gold medal winning team in Vancouver.


Enhanced by Zemanta