These 23 Will Try to Recapture 2002 Magic

Team Canada’s Olympic Men’s Hockey Roster Revealed

The wait is over. Today, in an eagerly anticipated announcement, Hockey Canada revealed its nominees for the 2010 Olympic men’s team. All eyes were on Saskatoon, site of the 2010 World Junior Championships, where the names were revealed in a press conference carried live on 13 networks.

The long-time hockey veteran Scott Niedermayer was named captain and part of the defence corps. He has one Olympic appearance – a golden one, in 2002. His alternate captains are Olympic veterans Jarome Iginla and Chris Pronger, as well as first-time Olympian Sidney Crosby.

Goaltenders Martin Brodeur, Roberto Luongo and Marc-Andre Fleury will be fronted by a defense responsible for shutting down some of the world’s most prolific scorers, including Russia’s Alexander Ovechkin, Evgeni Malkin and Ilya Kovalchuk and Sweden’s Daniel and Hedrik Sedin and Henrik Zetterberg. Canada’s 2010 defence combines veteran leadership from Pronger and Niedermayer with young, fast puck-moving players such as Shea Weber, Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook.

The forwards comprise some of the brightest names in hockey right now with Crosby, Iginla, Dany Heatley, Joe Thornton, Rick Nash, Patrick Marleau and Ryan Getzlaf.

The team – assembled by executive director Steve Yzerman and associate directors Doug Armstrong, Kevin Lowe and Ken Holland – is a certifiable step in the younger direction for Canada. Twelve players – more than half the roster – are below the age of 25, and just seven Olympians return from the 2006 Games in Turin. Fourteen of the players will be competing in their first Olympic Winter Games.

2010 Olympic men’s roster

Martin Brodeur, Montreal — New Jersey Devils*
Marc-Andre Fleury, Sorel, Que. — Pittsburgh Penguins
Roberto Luongo, Montreal — Vancouver Canucks*

Dan Boyle, Ottawa — San Jose Sharks*
Drew Doughty, Ottawa — L.A. Kings
Duncan Keith, Penticton, B.C. — Chicago Blackhawks
Scott Niedermayer, Cranbrook, B.C. — Anaheim Ducks*
Chris Pronger, Dryden, Ont. — Philadelphia Flyers*
Brent Seabrook, Tsawwassen, B.C. — Chicago Blackhawks
Shea Weber, Sicamous, B.C. — Nashville Predators

Patrice Bergeron, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Que — Boston Bruins
Sidney Crosby, Cole Harbour, N.S. — Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Regina — Anaheim Ducks
Dany Heatley, Calgary — San Jose Sharks*
Jarome Iginla, St. Albert, Alta. — Calgary Flames*
Patrick Marleau, Aneroid Sask. — San Jose Sharks
Brenden Morrow, Carlyle, Sask. — Dallas Stars
Rick Nash, Brampton, Ont. — Columbus Blue Jackets*
Mike Richards, Kenora, Ont. — Philadelphia Flyers
Corey Perry, Peterborough, Ont. — Anaheim Ducks
Eric Staal, Thunder Bay, Ont. — Carolina Hurricanes
Joe Thornton, St. Thomas, Ont. — San Jose Sharks*
Jonathan Toews, Winnipeg — Chicago Blackhawks

Previous Olympics marked by *