Canadians to Catch for Aug 3

Olympic Stadium heats up today for the first time in official competition and Kamploops B.C.’s Dylan Armstrong will kick things off for the Canadian contingent in the shot put. This 2011 World Championship silver medallist and Diamond League champion is a heavy favourite. He begins the one-day competition at 5 a.m. EST. The final is slated for 5:30 p.m. EST.

Sinead Russell of Oshawa, ON will do battle in the 200m backstroke final at 2:30 p.m. EST. After bowing out of the 400m freestyle heats distance specialist and Olympic bronze medallist Ryan Cochrane of Victoria, B.C. steps to the blocks in his premier event the 1,500m freestyle heat. His start time is 6 a.m. EST.

World record holder (routine difficulty) and Olympic silver medallist Jason Burnett of Etobicoke, ON will compete in the men’s individual trampoline event Friday in an effort to top the podium this time around. Burnett begins competition at 11:44 a.m. EST.

Fresh off their 3m synchronized diving bronze medal, both Jennifer Abel and Emilie Heymans will begin individual competition on the 3m Friday. Canadian diving action begins 11:30 a.m. EST.