CEO Overholt named to Own the Podium board

OTTAWA – Canadian Olympic Committee Chief Executive Officer and Secretary General Chris Overholt was named to Own the Podium’s Board in its first official Board meeting as a stand-alone legal entity. Former Canadian Paralympic Committee President Patrick Jarvis was also named to the OTP Board.

“I am honoured to join such an impressive group of sport leaders,” Overholt said. “Our work together is very important to ensure our Canadian athletes have everything they need to compete and win against the best in the world.”

“We are very proud to have Chris represent the Canadian Olympic Committee and our Canadian Olympians on the Own the Podium Board,” said Canadian Olympic Committee President Marcel Aubut. “He is an excellent leader and perfectly suited to help guide Own the Podium into the future.”

Overholt joined the Canadian Olympic Committee in May 2010 in two roles: chief operating officer (COO) and chief marketing officer (CMO), overseeing the day-to-day activities of the organization and leading the marketing function and business development. He was appointed to the role of chief executive officer (CEO) September 1, 2011.

“The addition of Chris to the OTP Board is another significant step taken to strengthen, coordinate and harmonize the high-performance sport system. Together we are focused on delivering programs and services designed to achieve excellence at future Olympic Games,” said Own the Podium Chair John Furlong.

In addition to Furlong, Overholt and Jarvis the OTP Board consists of Keith Pelley, Julie Payette, Dr. Mike Wilkinson, Ian Bird, Dr. Guy Larose, Therese Brisson and Tricia Smith.  All Board meetings also include recently appointed CEO, Anne Merklinger and Lane MacAdam, executive director, Sport Excellence Division, Sport Canada, who moved from a Board member to an observer under the new entity.