Moleschi Rugby on field


Canadian Olympic Medal Count

Gold medal icon 0
Silver medal icon 0
Bronze medal icon 1

Sport Overview

Rugby at Tokyo 2020Rugby Canada

Venue: Tokyo Stadium

Competition Dates: July 26-31, 2021 (Days 3-8)

Events: 2 (1 men, 1 women)

Although variations of rugby have existed since the Middle Ages, the first international match, played between Scotland and England, was not documented until 1871. There are two primary variants of rugby: Union and Sevens. While Rugby Union, featuring 15 players per side, had previously been on the Olympic program four times, it is Rugby Sevens (with seven players per side) that brought the sport back to the Games at Rio 2016.

Both the men’s and women’s Olympic tournaments begin with the 12 teams divided into three pools of four for a preliminary round robin. The top eight teams advance to the knockout stage, beginning with the quarterfinals. The semifinal winners play in the gold medal game while the semifinal losers play for bronze.

Canada's John Moonlight, right, scores the winning try in the final moments of play as France's Jean Baptiste Mazoue tries to stop him during World Rugby Sevens Series' Canada Sevens bowl final action, in Vancouver, B.C., on Sunday March 13, 2016. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

All rugby sevens matches are divided into two seven-minute halves, except the medal matches which have two 10-minute halves. The oval-shaped ball must be passed backwards between team members or kicked within the boundaries of the pitch.

The most valuable method of scoring is a try, worth five points when an attacking player puts the ball on the ground while controlling it within the dead ball area behind the goal line. After a try, a team can score two additional points by kicking the ball between the H-shaped goal posts. This is called a conversion. A team can also score three points with a penalty kick through the posts or with a drop goal, by which a player drops the ball to the ground and then kicks it through the posts.

Canada (in red) at Atlanta Sevens on April 8, 2016 (Photo: World Rugby).

Canada’s Olympic History (Pre-Tokyo 2020)

Canada won its first ever Olympic rugby medal at Rio 2016 when the women’s rugby sevens team captured bronze in their inaugural Olympic tournament. Ghislaine Landry was the number two scorer in the entire tournament with 41 points (5 tries, 8 conversions).

Canadian Medallists

Event Athlete Finish Games
WomenJen Kish, Karen Paquin, Natasha Watcham-Roy, Kelly Russell, Britt Benn, Ghislaine Landry, Hannah Darling, Megan Lukan, Bianca Farella, Charity Williams, Ashley Steacy, Kayla MoleschiBronzeRio 2016
- - - -